Hello and thanks for visiting Mark in Flowers

A few words about plants and me.

I usually call myself a ‘plant person’, which is what people who are really into plants and spend a lot of time working with them call each other in the United States. I spent a lot of time getting to know the plants in south-eastern Arizona and I’ve always loved how inclusive and open this description is. Anyone can connect with plants, we’ve been co-existing with them for ever on the planet. It’s a question of attention.

I’ve been a community activist for many years and live near the east coast of Suffolk in the UK, where plants continue to inform and occupy a huge part of my life. Throughout 2012 as part of Sustainable Bungay in Suffolk, I curated a Plant Medicine bed in the local Community Library garden, drawing attention to just how much plants actually do and how multi-faceted they are. In conjunction with the bed I organised and hosted a whole series of monthly ‘Plants for Life’ talks, walks and workshops with guest speakers on everything from hedgerow medicine to growing organic and biodynamic herbs, from book readings on the dreaming of plants to ‘medicinal’ winemaking and ‘walking with weeds’. Anyone and everyone is welcome to come to any of the events I organise.

These days I also refer to myself as a plant activist, as a lot of what I do and teach is about connecting people, plants and places. I’m particularly, though not exclusively, drawn to native, medicinal wild plants and I have a fondness for members of the mint and sunflower families and plants from Mexico, where I have lived. I work a LOT with Ribwort Plantain, and Lemon Balm and Rosemary always feature strongly. Recently I’ve been drawn to the powerful-smelling and enigmatic Epazote. And then there is always Anise Hyssop.

PFTeapot1-5And I love making (and teaching people how to make) plant teas and drinks, appearing in many places with my teapot, from Dark Mountain’s final Uncivilisation festival where I led a medicine plant walk, to Transition Town Tooting’s previous two Foodivals, where I gave herbal tea demos. I continue to travel with my teapot, making fresh delicious teas from whatever herbal edibles and drinkables are within reach. Next stop is the Two Degrees Festival on 6th June at 6-7pm where I’ll be brewing up a freshly foraged and locally gathered convivial floral summer tea alongside Playing for Time author and friend Lucy Neal.

Recently I have expanded my plant activities to include fermentation and passing on what I’ve learnt to others through demonstrations and workshops. Herbal meads are on the cards for 2015.

I am available for talks, walks, workshops and travelling teapots and charge according to a sliding scale – I charge more if you’ve got more, less if you have less.

A note about photos and text on Mark in Flowers blogposts: All text, photos and artwork are by me unless otherwise credited. I’m happy for you to use them so long as you credit them to me (Creative Commons with Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives)

Leave a Reply

