Good Winter Teas – Thyme and Fenugreek

P5274880 Thyme flowers detailThe temperatures this winter continue to be the mildest for several years here in the East of England. There have been lots of storms and strong winds but no real, prolonged cold. This week has been colder with a few hoar frosts but still the days have remained well above freezing. The yarrows I wrote about in my previous post are still in bloom!

At the moment though it’s pretty damp and that can make bones ache and sinuses puff up.

One good winter tea I’ve been making to help combat the damp and the cold is Thyme and Fenugreek. I heat one teaspoon of fenugreek seeds (I slightly crush them first with a pestle and mortar, but it’s not necessary) to two cups of water for 5-10 minutes in a small saucepan at just under boiling (no bubbles). In a separate pot I pour water just off the boil over a small bunch of thyme (I’m using fresh at the moment but dried is fine). I steep this for 5-10 mins, then add the thyme tea to the fenugreek tea. I drink the first cup and keep the rest in the saucepan to reheat later. The key is not to boil it.

Watch this space for more winter teas. And if you’d like me to pay you a visit (groups of 8-25 people) to go for a walk in your neighbourhood followed by a plant tea demonstration, do get in touch.

Leave a Reply

