Flowerbuds of Bay in Finsbury Park

Walking through Finsbury Park to a Social Reporters’ meeting at Edible Landscapes last month we came across these magnificent bay trees in full flowerbud

I don’t get to London much these days although I’m originally from there, not so far from Finsbury Park in fact.

In the days when I lived, studied and worked in Golders Green and Camden Town, I would take long long walks through the City streets and parks, and never tired of them.

I wasn’t tuned into flowers and trees then, apart from noticing London Planes and the plant world vaguely as background vegetation! It was another lifetime (and longer ago than I want to think about!).

So now on the rare days when I leave the flatlands of East Anglia to come into the capital, and with years of paying attention to flowers and trees behind me, I’m always surprised to find trees like these… left to be glorious right in the middle of the metropolis. Sweet bays full of flowerbuds on a cold January day. Magic!

Leave a Reply

